Accept cookies The Royal Danish Mint uses cookies to monitor traffic on our website. This allows us to improve our website and make it more accessible to users. Therefore, we would like you to accept cookies on The Royal Danish Mint's website. You can delete our cookies at any time.   More about cookies

About us Denmark's coin series Thematic coins Coin set Commemorative coins Notes
<< Home / Thematic coins / Tower coins / Christiansborg Palace Tower
Links Site map Dansk   Search Log on
News service Press room Publications Coinage Act
Back to the frontpage

Thematic coins

Tower coins

Aarhus City Hall Tower

Old Copenhagen Stock Exchange, Børsen

Christiansborg Palace Tower

The Goose Tower

Svaneke Water Tower

Landet Church

Nólsoy Lighthouse

Gråsten Palace

Three Brothers

Copenhagen City Hall Tower

Fairy tale coins

Polar coins

Ship coins

The Scientist Series

Royal Danish Mint | | |QR code for mobile units

Christiansborg Palace Tower

Picture of Christiansborg Palace Tower decorated with flags is the motif of the third thematic coin

On 20 November 2003 the third tower coin was put into circulation. The motif is Christiansborg Palace Tower. The Palace was built after a fire had destroyed its predecessor in 1884.

The characteristic tower with three crowns and a weather-vane is a later addition. Christiansborg Palace houses the Danish Parliament, the Folketing, as well as the Royal Reception Rooms, the Danish Supreme Court and the Prime Minister's Office.

The motif was designed by the Faroese sculptor Hans Pauli Olsen. He comments on his work on the coin: "It has been an exciting and challenging task to design the coin. After many remodelling I am proud to present the result. This is the first time I have made something that so many people will hold in their hands."

Last update: 02/17/2014

We recommend
Read by others

Royal Danish Mint
Havnegade 5
DK-1093 København K
Contact us Disclaimer